December 2016 Net Worth Update

Hello, World and welcome to our December 2016 Statement of Net Worth!

statement-of-net-worth-december

This month we see a decrease (egad!) in our Net Worth because we bought a 2013 Dodge Dart. Buying cars is definitely a learning process for us and I expect we will get better as time goes on. This was an expense that we expected and did plan for. The car was for sale for $10,000 and we negotiated with the dealership to get the price down to $9,400 which I thought was awesome. We were aiming for $9,000 but there was really nothing wrong with the car so we went ahead and paid that. BUT my husband really wanted a warranty added on to the car. We disagreed about this so we came to the conclusion that we will go ahead and get the warranty because he really wanted it, and I would feel terrible if something happened to the car where we needed the warranty! It cost $2,495 and was added on to the loan, which automatically makes it cost more. I really wasn’t happy about this! But we went ahead and added it to the loan and we are using it as a learning experience. I have an ongoing note of the repairs that we get under this 3 year/36,000 mile warranty. If the costs don’t exceed $2,495, going forward we will know to opt out of the warranty for future car purchases and just hold that money aside in an Emergency Fund especially for car repairs.

I looked up the car value using Kelly Blue Book and I believe I selected excellent condition, and sell to a private party. Dealerships are always more expensive but we aren’t to the point yet that we are ready to risk going to a private seller. I might attempt it when I buy my daughter’s VW Beetle in 2018. Scott Alan Turner had some good ideas on how to achieve this: Look up the cars you want on your preferred search tool, and then arrange for the seller to take the car to the dealership for an inspection. If everything is up to par then you go ahead and buy the car. If everything is not up to par, you and the seller both know what cards are on the table and you can perhaps negotiate the price even lower if you are still interested in buying the car. If not, you’re out the cost of the inspection but that’s a small price to pay because you avoided buying a lemon. Plus, you could save thousands by going to a private seller. Just look at our deficit for the Dodge Dart: It is worth $7,524 had we purchased it from a private party and we owe $12,526… Stupid warranty. Grr.

On to our regularly scheduled breakdown:

Assets

­The value of our home went up $477! Great news, but nothing under our control, just the fluctuations of the housing market.

The HHR went down in value $46 which isn’t a big deal, but what will be a big deal is when I sign this car over to my son it will be coming off our Assets resulting in another $2,000 decrease in net worth! I really don’t want to hit $(70,000)!

In regards to the Christmas Club and Vacation Club accounts, my husband and I have agreed to make a New Year’s Resolution to increase the automatic transfers in to these accounts from $5/week to $20/week! That will be super helpful come Christmastime next year, and should allow for something of a vacation eventually.

On to the ugly…

Liabilities

This was the first month of our increased principal payment due to the regular monthly payment amount due dropping from the escrow adjustment last month. So our mortgage decreased $124 instead of only $95 in November.

We will be scoring a 5.5% interest rate reduction on our personal loan later this month due to our credit scores increasing 2 letter grades in 1 year, so that will help take more off the principal until I add this to my Capital One 0% balance transfer I have planned for April.

Some awesome news is that we paid off my 401(k) loan last month! I left it on the spreadsheet to reflect the 0 balance, but I’ll be taking if off next month. I can’t wait for the day when we have more asset accounts than liability accounts. Maybe in April when I  transfer the personal loan to Capital One.

I made my first Income Based Repayment Plan payment to Navient this month, and my balance actually went UP $161! How heartbreaking, right? There were some hiccups with autopay which was supposed to start 11/3 and then again 12/3 but they never drafted, so I had to call and make the payment myself. I’m going to watch next month and see what the balance increases to and then increase my payment that much. It stinks I’ll have to pay that much extra just to keep from falling deeper in to debt, but if I had done it years ago I wouldn’t be paying compounding interest on the balance now. I have to draw the line somewhere! I can’t choose to wait for the 25 year forgiveness to save me because my balance will have grown to $81,000 by then and all of that will be counted as income on that tax year. Plus, I just want it gone. I really want to pay this off.

Home Depot went up a little bit because we purchased a leaf blower, the expense of which was offset by my payment. This will actually be going up quite a bit more in the next month or 2 because I’m planning on updating the bedroom and bathroom doors in our home. I’m doing a bit here and there to try to not only increase the value of our home but increase OUR value of the home. I am trying to make it as comfortable and accommodating as possible so we are happy in it as long as possible.

Our Capital One account balance has decreased $351 thanks to $275 coming of for the 0% HHR payment, and other miscellaneous balance changes that happen month to month since we have many of our bills on autopay and pay it in full each month.

And here we have our December 2016 Net Worth amount of: $(69,580)! A decrease of $2,611 from November. Whomp Whomp.

Fun Facts:

This month we have started a New Month Resolution called No Spend Thursdays! I have been inspired by Youtubers who engage in No Spend Months but I really can’t imagine going that long without spending! Another Youtuber suggested to start out small by having a certain day of the week where you don’t spend anything. That’s Thursday for this Family!

Exciting Changes Coming Up in January:

  • Increased principal payment to personal loan due to interest rate reduction
  • Increased auto transfer of $20 to Christmas and Vacation Clubs

I really wish this month had more success to share. I love that this blog and the monthly updates keep me accountable.

Talk again soon!

XOXO,

Dolores

2 thoughts on “December 2016 Net Worth Update

Leave a Reply

